Scourge of Asia – Casca 43 reviews here

Casca Forums Casca Book Reviews Scourge of Asia – Casca 43 reviews here

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by avatar Tony Roberts 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
August 28, 2015 at 8:35 am #2432
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Leave any review you’d like of this book on this thread. All comments welcome.

September 10, 2015 at 10:42 pm #2435
avatar
joe
Participant

Wow Tony, what a trip that was…I’ve got saddle sores from all the countries you took me across. This has to be your most complex and intriguing book yet…exciting…always left you wondering what was happening next? For 19 chapters I thought you were merely making up city, river and country names…then i pulled up “google”, darn, those places were real…so i had to go back to see where the heck I’d been. the characters were most excellent and the war scenes were indeed very Sadleresque.. Great job Mate……

November 17, 2017 at 8:25 am #2613
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Thanks Joe – Scourge was actually the book that got me the job of Casca writer. I sent the manuscript to the franchise owner way back in October 2005 and he loved it but wanted me to do the Civil War stories and then we got into a (well lets call it a negotiation) as to the subject matter of each new story. Ultimately Scourge was put on the back burner until the franchise owner’s death. I decided to publish it after that as I thought it deserved to see the light of day.

April 10, 2019 at 11:17 am #2846
avatar
Gerrykn
Member

Casca returns once again to the lands of the Horde as the Old Young One. I have to say that this was a good read. It does show you that the best action in Casca novels is situated in the age of swords and the warriors that swing them, but Casca is in his element when he is a soldier leading troops directly into battle, not a General or warlord watching in the distance (He makes that point near the end). Alas, a major portion of this book is the latter, but there was some good combat anyway. You can still it a page turner, but something is just missing. Tony melded real history with his plot just about perfectly. There were times when I was frustrated with the direction things were headed, but it couldn’t be helped since it is exactly what that Timur guy really did. I warn you, if you do not know who this Timur is, don’t look him up until after reading the book. I already knew the history of this fella, so I, pretty much, knew how the story would end.

There was a possible plot hole, and a couple editorial mistakes, but nothing serious. There was no porn in this one. Just a nice relationship with the woman he loved. I enjoyed her reactions when she learned who he is, and why he is the way he is. I love the cover art, the look is very intense. Some portions are from actual paintings. That pile of skulls is really supposed to have happened also. Casca looks like he should. Like someone that has killed thousands with his own hands, not like some male model. (Yes, I’m talking to you Fabio guy from Casca 18).

April 10, 2019 at 11:27 am #2847
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Nice review Gerry, thanks. I do like reading constructive criticisms as it helps me tailor my style if I think the points made are reasonable. I’ve seen some comments on amazon that are just plain insulting and mindless and I ignore those.

Glad you liked the tale and yes, I do like the new artist’s style on the covers, a more gritty take on our immortal friend, much more so than Fabio.

April 10, 2019 at 12:12 pm #2848
avatar
Gerrykn
Member

I put it over on Amazon also, even though I don’t do Kindle. I explained why there.

April 10, 2019 at 4:15 pm #2849
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Yes read it just now. Thanks Gerry, nice touch at the end too.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.