Reviews

Casca Forums Casca Chat Reviews

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 40 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by avatar Tony Roberts 3 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 41 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
October 25, 2018 at 3:14 pm #2739
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

I’ve put up a post on the review section (Blog, Book Review) for any reviews of either The Austrian or The Lombard (or both, if you like).

November 2, 2018 at 3:08 am #2740
avatar
Swordman
Member

Any thought of making a movie or TV series?
This story would fit well in the same sort of present day/flashbacks like the old Highlander series

November 2, 2018 at 12:16 pm #2741
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

There has been plenty of efforts to do this but for one reason or other, all have foundered or not been carried through.

On the subject of Highlander, what came first, Highlander or Casca? Highlander was written originally by a Canadian university student in around 1983 or 1984. Casca had been written and published in 1979. Who’s to say this student hadn’t read Casca and borrowed the general idea of an immortal?

Besides, Casca as a series would be ill-served by the ‘flashback’ method. It’s already been done many times over. What Casca’s strength is, is the immersive there-at-the-moment series, of a warrior at that period of time fighting at that time. To reduce it to the easy-to-do and cheaper option of setting it in present day and ‘flashback’ is a cop-out, as far as I, and many others, are concerned.

January 14, 2019 at 10:03 pm #2757
avatar
jhstoney673
Participant

I think the first Casca book would make an excellent first movie with sequels to follow. The best thing is the sequels do not need to follow the same ordering as the books and could even be new materiel or be batched (e.g. all the Gus storylines in one movie, etc.).

Get the Rock to play Casca… he is who I think of when I read your great stories.

January 14, 2019 at 10:15 pm #2759
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Yes the first book would be a great film, and introduction to the Casca series. But I fear Hollywood or whoever takes up the responsibility would go down the cheap and safe option of doing a similar butcher job that they did to Highlander.

January 14, 2019 at 10:28 pm #2762
avatar
jhstoney673
Participant

Hmm, yes, they certainly butchered Highlander. It is almost painful to watch nowadays.

January 14, 2019 at 10:38 pm #2764
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

I was talking about that today on the podcast interview. Hopefully the interview will be available for you all to hear before long. I have no idea how long the podcast will be, as I was chatting to the interviewer for about 1 hour 15 minutes.

January 20, 2019 at 2:45 pm #2772
avatar
Bertin
Member

Hello!

I’m new to your series and this forum. A Highlander fan on FB recommended the series, and I have been borrowing the audiobooks online from my hometown library, as I live abroad. I’m in book 3 now. I’m at the point where Casca is riding in to help a caravan under attack, because he heard women screaming.

I like that Casca is not only allowed to fall in love, but also allowed to stay with (at least once) the woman he loves as long as he can. Having recently listened to the first book, I squawked a wounded protest in the second, knowing already to expect the result when he tried to give his blood to Metah.

It’s very difficult to both read up on a series like this, and to avoid spoilers.

Good books. Thank you so much for writing them!

January 20, 2019 at 3:19 pm #2773
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Hi. Thanks for your posting. Yes very hard to avoid what happens before you read the books. Good that you knew what would happen to poor Metah before the event, it shows you understand the characters and what it is about them.

If you want to read the books in chronological order you would be best to read book 6 straight after 3.

January 20, 2019 at 3:33 pm #2774
avatar
Bertin
Member

Oh nice! Just to make certain I get this, though: After 3 read 6, then read 4?

January 20, 2019 at 3:53 pm #2775
avatar
jhstoney673
Participant

What an envious position to be in, on book three with 46 more to go. This is such a rich storyline.

You really haven’t even gotten to the really good plots that carry over for multiple epochs of time.

Happy reading!

January 20, 2019 at 3:58 pm #2776
avatar
Bertin
Member

No doubt! Looking forward to them!

I can see the issues if someone attempts to make a series out of it, but most of that would involve people saying “You know what would be really cool? If Casca’s complete enemy is another immortal like him… Oh, and it could be a woman, maybe the woman who gave him his scar! Or…”

January 20, 2019 at 5:14 pm #2777
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Bertin, the sequence for the opening run of books in historical order is: 1,5,2,3,6,7,37,46,9,28 and 49. After that you have gaps in Casca’s life story. Number 4 is set in WW2.

January 21, 2019 at 12:19 pm #2778
avatar
Bertin
Member

Having already been through 1, 2, 3, I went for 5 and understand why, chronologically, it’s placed after 2. However, I hit a problem for me involving Dr. Julius Goldman. Book 1 he stumbles upon Casca and gets immersed in how his life as an immortal began. Book 2 is their second encounter, Casca immersing him in the story of his jade mask. Book 3, their third encounter, Casca arriving on his doorstep to intimidate the lady who works for Goldman, and to share with him the story of his life as a warlord and getting buried alive for eight years by that fiendish woman. Glad she got hers. Urgh! So then I went to 5, which begins with Goldman telling us he’s felt compelled to write Casca’s story. This comes out of left field. Also, so far 5 has quite a different feel. I do love the early bit of Casca and the lizard. I’m going to give 4 a bit of a listen to find out how that goes.

I think you said to buy paperbacks from you. My life is not conducive to physical media. While, because I have to drive a lot, I’ve become fond of audiobooks, ebooks are great for me, too. In short, what’s the best way to give you my money?

January 21, 2019 at 5:00 pm #2780
avatar
Tony Roberts
Keymaster

Bertin, yes the early books were a little confusing, and i think it was down to Barry Sadler the original author writing Barbarian immediately after Eternal Mercenary but the publishing company wanted God of Death next, so they went with that one. Barbarian only got published after Panzer Soldier which is why it jumps back in time.

If you buy the ebooks then I do get some of the royalties – so getting them from amazon is better than the paperbacks from amazon for me.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 41 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.